Feasting break during city trip

Five culinary tips for Erfurt

Admiring impressive architecture, discovering remnants of the Middle Ages, marveling at crafts on the Krämerbrücke: a stroll through Erfurt makes you hungry. ADAC travel expert Heidi has a few tips for the big and small hunger, sweet or hearty.

Classic: the Thuringian Rostbratwurst

When the weather is nice, you can smell the Rostbratwurst from far away, as it is on the charcoal grill on every corner. It lands, well browned, in a roll on the hand - of course with mustard, like "true " Thuringians enjoy them. You can also take a stroll through the city and find bratwurst stands in popular places such as the main train station, the cathedral square or at the Schlösserbrücke. Or you can stop at a pub, where it is usually served with sauerkraut and mashed potatoes.


Local tip: Stop by Faustfood, an indoor grill in a medieval barn. Here you can find not only delicious sausage, but also Thuringian Rostbrätel, burgers, vegetarian food and other grilled delicacies. www.faustfood.de

Sweets: ice cream and chocolate from Goldhelm

A visit to one of the Goldhelm stores has become a must when strolling through Erfurt. Whether you're looking for a refreshment on a summer's day, a warming hot drink in winter, or a souvenir for your loved ones - you'll find it at Goldhelm.


The homemade ice cream varieties are popular - the classic is the Brückentrüffel variety, a chocolatey temptation. Fruity-fresh it is for example with yogurt & wild blueberry. As a gift, you can take the bridge truffle home in its original form as a praline. Or you can opt for hand-coated chocolate bars, nutty-chocolate spreads, drinking chocolate, and much more, all in lovely designed packaging, which owner Alex Kühn also creates himself. He also pays attention to natural ingredients from the region or from his own cultivation. www.goldhelm-schokolade.com

Delicatessen: the Ballenberger

Directly on the Krämerbrücke, the "Ballenberger" is a true oasis of pleasure and relaxation. The combination of individual-modern ambience and genuine dishes, created from fresh seasonal ingredients, is convincing.


The philosophy of the restaurant: give the individual components their space. Christin Ballenberger draws inspiration for her dishes from influences all over the world. Dishes are sometimes seasoned with Mediterranean herbs, sometimes African spices come into play or Asian notes. Priority is given to regional and seasonal products. The owner is particularly happy when her guests enjoy the variety, experience the food consciously and say afterwards: "Ballenberger - tastes like love." www.das-ballenberger.de

Vacation feeling: the "Magda" in Alach

If you need a break from the urban flair of Erfurt, we recommend a bike ride to Alach. Along seemingly endless poppy fields and fruit trees you will reach your destination within about 45 minutes. Once you arrive at the Magdalenengut, you'll be greeted by a Mediterranean atmosphere: a four-sided courtyard with light-colored brickwork, a free-standing clay oven, an inviting terrace, a herb garden and fragrant lavender.

The renovated half-timbered house is also cozy. André Radtke serves upscale country cuisine with an international touch. He uses seasonal ingredients to create a menu that changes monthly - and vegetarian options are available on request. It's worth coming back again and again.

Good weather tip: Order a richly filled picnic basket from "Magda" (please book in advance). With the delicacies you can look for a cozy spot in the surrounding area or simply extend your bike tour to the egapark and enjoy your picnic there. www.restaurant-magda.de 

More travel tips in Thuringia can be found at any ADAC office or travel agency.

Your ADAC travel expert Heidi Grubenick from the ADAC travel agency in Erfurt.


 


This might be interesting for you, too:

Schlemm-Pause beim Städtetrip

Fünf kulinarische Tipps für Erfurt

Beeindruckende Architektur bewundern, Überbleibsel des Mittelalters entdecken, Handwerk auf der Krämerbrücke bestaunen: Ein Stadtbummel durch Erfurt macht hungrig. ADAC-Reiseexpertin Heidi hat ein paar Tipps für den großen und kleinen Hunger, süß oder deftig.

Klassiker: die Thüringer Rostbratwurst

Bei schönem Wetter riecht ihr die Rostbratwurst schon von weitem, da sie an jeder Ecke auf dem Holzkohlegrill liegt. Sie landet, gut gebräunt, in einem Brötchen auf der Hand – natürlich mit Senf, so wie sie „wahre“ Thüringer essen. Dazu könnt ihr euch beim Stadtbummel treiben lassen und Bratwurststände an gut besuchten Plätzen aufspüren wie am Hauptbahnhof, auf dem Domplatz oder an der Schlösserbrücke. Oder ihr kehrt in eine Gaststube ein, wo sie meist mit Sauerkraut und Kartoffelpüree serviert wird.


Local-Tipp: Schaut bei Faustfood vorbei, einem Indoor-Grill in einer mittelalterlichen Scheune. Hier gibt es nicht nur leckere Wurst, sondern auch Thüringer Rostbrätel, Burger, Vegetarisches und anderes vom Grill. www.faustfood.de

Süßes: Eis und Schokolade von Goldhelm 

Ein Besuch in einem der Goldhelm-Läden ist beim Stadtbummel durch Erfurt zur Pflicht geworden. Egal, ob ihr eine Erfrischung an Sommertagen sucht, ein wärmendes Heißgetränk im Winter oder ein Mitbringsel für eure Liebsten – bei Goldhelm werdet ihr fündig.


Die selbstgemachten Eissorten sind beliebt – der Klassiker ist die Sorte Brückentrüffel, eine schokoladige Versuchung. Fruchtig-frisch wird’s zum Beispiel mit Joghurt & Wildheidelbär. Als Geschenk nehmt ihr die Brückentrüffel in ihrer Ursprungsform als Praline mit nach Hause. Oder ihr entscheidet euch für handgestrichene Tafelschokoladen, nussig-schokoladige Aufstriche, Trinkschokolade und und und, alles in liebevoll gestalteten Verpackungen, die Inhaber Alex Kühn auch selbst kreiert. Er achtet zudem auf natürliche Zutaten aus der Region oder aus eigenem Anbau. www.goldhelm-schokolade.com

Feinkost: das Ballenberger

Direkt an der Krämerbrücke ist das „Ballenberger" eine wahre Oase des Genusses und der Entspannung. Überzeugend ist die Kombination aus individuell-modernem Ambiente und unverfälschten Gerichten, kreiert aus frischen Zutaten der Saison.


Die Philosophie des Restaurants: den einzelnen Komponenten ihren Raum geben. Christin Ballenberger lässt sich bei ihren Gerichten von Einflüssen aus aller Welt inspirieren. Gerichte werden mal mit mediterranen Kräutern abgeschmeckt, mal kommen afrikanische Gewürze ins Spiel oder asiatische Noten. Den Vorrang haben regionale und saisonale Produkte. Glücklich ist die Inhaberin vor allem dann, wenn ihre Gäste die Vielfalt genießen, das Essen bewusst erleben und man hinterher sagt: „Ballenberger – schmeckt nach Liebe". www.das-ballenberger.de

Urlaubsfeeling: das „Magda“ in Alach

Wenn ihr eine Auszeit vom urbanen Flair Erfurts braucht, empfehlen wir eine Radtour nach Alach. Entlang endlos scheinender Mohnfelder und Obstbäumen habt ihr innerhalb von ca. 45 Minuten euer Ziel erreicht. Am Magdalenengut angekommen begrüßt euch mediterrane Atmosphäre: ein Vierseitenhof mit hellem Mauerwerk, ein freistehender Lehmbackofen, daneben eine einladende Terrasse, Kräutergarten und duftender Lavendel.


Auch im renovierten Fachwerkhaus ist es heimelig. André Radtke tischt hier gehobene Landhausküche auf, die international angehaucht ist. Mit saisonalen Zutaten kreiert er ein monatlich wechselndes Menü – auf Wunsch auch vegetarisch. Da lohnt es sich, stets wiederzukommen.

Schönwetter-Tipp: Bestellt euch im „Magda“ einen reich befüllten Picknickkorb (bitte im Voraus anmelden). Mit den Leckereien sucht ihr euch in der Umgebung ein lauschiges Plätzchen oder verlängert eure Radtour einfach bis zum egapark und genießt euer Picknick dort.  www.restaurant-magda.de 

Mehr Ausflugstipps in Thüringen gibt es in jeder ADAC Geschäftsstelle & Reisebüro.

Eure ADAC-Reiseexpertin Heidi Grubenick aus dem ADAC Reisebüro in Erfurt.


 


Das könnte euch auch interessieren: