Beach feeling in Thuringia

Off to the south

Such a day at the water feels directly like vacation! Thuringia offers a lot of great excursion destinations. But there's also plenty for hikers and park lovers to discover. Here are the personal highlights of ADAC travel expert Anne.

The sound of the sea in Thuringia

Did you know that Thuringia is located at the sea? Okay, not an ocean, but the area known as the "Thuringian Sea" is Germany's largest reservoir region. The water paradise is located near Saalburg in the south of Thuringia and is made up of several reservoirs. With a total length of more than 70 kilometers, it is one of the largest artificial lakes in Europe. The Bleilochtalsperre and the Hohenwartestausee are the two largest reservoirs. 
For water freaks the region is a dream! You can go sailing, surfing, swimming, boating or explore the area on a kayak. Those who like it cozy can chug across the lake with the excursion steamboat.


©Sascha Horn, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH 

The white sandy beach at Saalburg Beach is especially beautiful. There are not only beach volleyball and soccer fields, there are also kayak and SUP rentals and a small bar. With the camper you can also overnight directly on the beach.

Fun sports on the water

Water freaks also get their money's worth at the Saalthal Alter water sports center on the Thuringian Sea. Here you can water ski, wakeboard or tube - and even get a diving license. If you are looking for a special kick, you can climb into the "Water Zorb" - a large inflatable water ball in which you can run across the water as if you were on a hamster wheel. Great fun - and not just for kids.

©Vincent Grätsch, Saaleland 

Of fairies and other fairytale beings

From the Thuringian Sea, a trip to the Saalfeld Fairy Grottoes is well worth it. An impressive exhibition mine with colorful stalactites has been created from a former mine. On a tour of the caves, you can learn interesting facts about the history of the former mine, the work of the miners and the creation of the colorful show caves. And there is also something for the little ones: the enchanted fairy world! The magical adventure forest with great opportunities for playing and climbing takes you along meandering paths.

Crazy troll house ©Matthias Frank Schmidt, SFTG

Bergfried-Park in Saalfeld

In the Golden Twenties, the chocolate manufacturer Karl Ernst Hüther had bulit the Bergfried Park above his factory by the largest horticultural company of that time. The park left almost nothing to be desired: a Japanese garden for relaxation, a tennis court for physical health or a golf course for social occasions are just a few areas of the estate.This year it is one of the outlying locations of the Federal Horticultural Show.


©Stefan Nink, CMR, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Hiking on the Hohenwartestausee Trail

Those who like to explore the area on foot can go on a voyage of discovery on the Hohenwartestausee Trail, which is about 74 kilometers long. The tour leads through pretty villages and dense forests and along steep slopes with always great viewpoints of the lake area. 

View from the Bock rock ©Peter Hirth, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Burgk Castle

Burgk Castle on the Saale River is a great photo spot! It thrones imposingly on a rock plateau between Bleiloch and Hohenwartestausee lakes. The castle is the oldest and largest in the Thuringian highlands and is considered one of the most beautiful castles in Germany. First mentioned in a document in 1365, it is now a cultural center that contains the Burgk Castle Museum. In addition to exhibitions, concerts are also held here regularly.

©Dennis Schmelz, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Landscape Park Ebersdorf

You would not necessarily expect that one of the largest parks in Thuringia is located in the small community of Ebersdorf. Over 50 hectares in size, with tens of thousands of trees and a river meandering through the grounds, the Ebersdorf Landscape Park is one of the outlying locations of the BUGA. A truly beautiful spot!


©Isabela Pacini, MERIAN

More travel tips in Thuringia can be found at any ADAC office or travel agency.

Your ADAC travel expert Anne Rosenhan from the ADAC travel agency in Jena.

 


This might be interesting for you, too:

Strandfeeling in Thüringen

Ab in den Süden

So ein Tag am Wasser fühlt sich direkt wie Urlaub an! Thüringen bietet hier jede Menge tolle Ausflugsziele. Aber auch für Wanderer und Parkliebhaber gibt’s einiges zu entdecken. Lest hier die persönlichen Highlights der ADAC-Reiseexpertin Anne.

Meeresrauschen in Thüringen 

Wusstet ihr, dass Thüringen am Meer liegt? Ok, kein Ozean, aber das sogenannte „Thüringer Meer“ ist Deutschlands größte Stauseeregion. Das Wasserparadies liegt bei Saalburg im Süden Thüringens und setzt sich aus mehreren Stauseen zusammen. Mit mehr als 70 Kilometern Gesamtlänge ist es eines der größten künstlichen Gewässer Europas. Dabei bilden die Bleilochtalsperre und der Hohenwartestausee die zwei größten Stauseen. 
Für Wasserratten ist die Region ein Traum! Man kann Segeln, Surfen, Schwimmen, Bootfahren oder auf dem Kayak die Gegend erkunden. Wer´s gemütlich mag, tuckert mit dem Ausflugdampfer über den See.


©Sascha Horn, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH 

Besonders schön liegt man am Saalburg Beach am weißen Sandstrand. Hier gibt’s nicht nur Beachvolleyball- und Soccer-Felder, sondern auch einen Verleih für Kajaks und SUPs  und eine kleine Bar. Mit dem Camper kann man auch vor Ort direkt am Strand übernachten.

Funsport auf dem Wasser 

Auch im Wassersportzentrum Saalthal Alter am Thüringer Meer kommen Wasserfreaks auf ihre Kosten. Hier kann man Wasserski, Wakeboard oder Tube fahren – und sogar einen Tauchschein machen. Wer den besonderen Kick sucht, steigt in den „Water Zorb“ – ein großer aufblasbarer Wasserball mit dem man dann wie im Hamsterrad über das Wasser läuft. Ein Riesenspaß  - nicht nur für Kinder. 

©Vincent Grätsch, Saaleland 

Von Feen und anderen Fabelwesen

Vom Thüringer Meer lohnt ein Ausflug zu den Saalfelder Feengrotten. Aus einem stillgelegten Bergwerk ist dort ein beeindruckendes Schaubergwerk entstanden mit farbenfrohen Tropfsteinen. Bei einem Rundgang durch die Grotten erfährt man Interessantes über die Geschichte der ehemaligen Grube, die Arbeit der Bergleute wie auch über die Entstehung der bunten Schaugrotten. Und für die Kleinen ist auch etwas dabei: das verzauberte Feenweltchen! Über verschlungene Pfade geht’s durch den magischen Erlebniswald mit tollen Spiel- und Klettermöglichkeiten.

Verrücktes Trollhaus ©Matthias Frank Schmidt, SFTG

Bergfried-Park in Saalfeld

Der Schokoladenfabrikant Karl Ernst Hüther ließ sich in den Goldenen Zwanziger Jahren oberhalb seiner Fabrik den Bergfried-Park von der damals größten Gartenbaufirma errichten lassen. Die Parkanlage ließ nahezu keine Wünsche offen: ein Japangarten zur Entspannung, ein Tennisplatz für die körperliche Gesundheit oder ein Golfplatz für gesellschaftliche Anlässe sind nur einige Bereiche des Anwesens. Dieses Jahr gehört er mit zu den Außenstandorten der BUGA.


©Stefan Nink, CMR, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Wandern auf dem Hohenwartestausee-Weg

Wer gerne zu Fuß die Gegend erkundet, kann auf dem rund 74 Kilometer langen Hohenwartestausee-Weg auf Entdeckungsreise gehen. Die Tour führt durch hübsche Dörfer und dichte Wälder und entlang der Steilhänge mit  immer wieder tollen Aussichtspunkten auf das Seengebiet. 

Blick vom Bockfelsen ©Peter Hirth, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Schloss Burgk

Ein tolles Fotomotiv ist das Schloss Burgk an der Saale! Es thront imposant auf einem Felsplateau zwischen Bleiloch- und Hohenwartestausee. Das Schloss ist das älteste und größte des Thüringer Oberlandes und gilt als eines der schönsten Schlösser Deutschlands. 1365 erstmals urkundlich erwähnt, ist es heute ein kulturelles Zentrum, in dem das Museum Schloss Burgk untergebracht ist. Neben Ausstellungen finden hier auch regelmäßig Konzerte statt.

©Dennis Schmelz, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Landschaftspark Ebersdorf

Man vermutet nicht unbedingt, dass in der kleinen Gemeinde Ebersdorf eine der größten Parkanlagen Thüringens liegt. Über 50 Hektar groß mit zehntausenden von Bäumen und einem Fluss der sich durch die Anläge schlängelt gehört der Landschaftspark Ebersdorf zu den BUGA Außenstandorten. Ein wirklich schönes Fleckchen Erde!


©Isabela Pacini, MERIAN

Mehr Ausflugstipps in Thüringen gibt es in jeder ADAC Geschäftsstelle & Reisebüro.

Eure ADAC-Reiseexpertin Anne Rosenhan aus dem ADAC Reisebüro in Jena.

 


Das könnte euch auch interessieren: