Off to the north

Discover North Thuringia by motorcycle

Thuringia makes bikers' hearts beat faster! Especially the Südharz Kyffhäuser region offers beautiful scenic routes for motorcyclists. Here's a tip from ADAC travel expert Niklas for a nice day trip over wonderful roads with numerous curves and passing idyllic places.

The round trip starts and ends in Nordhausen. It leads via Hasselfelde and Harzgerode to Sangerhausen. From there it continues to Bad Frankenhausen to the Kyffhäuser monument. The tour then leads via Bendeleben to Sonderhausen Castle and back to the starting point. The route is around 200 kilometers long, and it is worth making a few stops along the way. Four outlying places of the Federal Horticultural Show 2021 are also on the route.  Here are my personal highlights:

Nordhausen with Villa Hohenrode

The historic park Hohenrode in Nordhausen is the first outlying location of the BUGA and worth a visit! Ten hectares of park with a stately villa can be admired there. Carl and his son Fritz Kneiff shaped the park through their passion for collecting rare trees and shrubs.

 ©GECKO.1, Bundesgartenschau Erfurt 2021 gGmbH

Europa-Rosarium in Sangerhausen 

If you love roses, you can't miss the Europa-Rosarium in Sangerhausen. Here you will find the largest collection of roses in the world! Around 100,000 roses grow here, and more than 8,700 species can be admired and smelled on the 13-hectare site. Although Sangerhausen is already in Saxony-Anhalt, it is one of the outlying places of the BUGA and is therefore a must for all visitors to Thuringia.

©GECKO.1, Bundesgartenschau Erfurt 2021 gGmbH

The Leaning Tower of Bad Frankenhausen

It is worth a detour to the historic village of Bad Frankenhausen. The church tower of the Protestant Oberkirche is definitely a popular photo spot - with an overhang of 4.6 meters, this is the most leaning of all German towers! It is even more inclined than the Leaning Tower of Pisa. On the BUGA grounds of the egapark in Erfurt, children can climb a reconstruction of the Leaning Tower of Bad Frankenhausen.

Kyffhäuser Monument

Imposing is the Kaiser Wilhelm National Monument on the Kyffhäuser.  A huge complex over 80 meters high with the equestrian statue of Emperor Wilhelm I and the figure of Barbarossa carved in stone. The monument was erected at the end of the 19th century and is considered one of the largest in Germany. Those who climb the many steps to the viewing platform enjoy a great view all the way to the Harz Mountains. 

©Martin Ludwig

Baroque Village Bendeleben

Another outlying location of the BUGA is in the baroque village of Bendeleben. The village with 600 inhabitants invites to a great walk. The charming houses built in baroque style, the great orangery and the idyllic Bendeleben park with its seven ponds offer perfect places for a little rest.

©ZK Medien, Südharz Kyffhäuser Region

Castle Sondershausen 

The former residential castle of Sondershausen stands impressively above the town. For more than half a millennium, the counts and princes of Schwarzburg have reigned over the town of Sondershausen and have left behind this unique castle complex. Today, the beautiful complex is one of the most important sights of the Kyffhäuser district, and may even be one of the most beautiful castles in Thuringia.

Blue hall inside the castle Sondershausen ©Roland Wehking, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Ebeleben

Unexpected enjoyment can be found at this outlying place of the BUGA. In a small town in the county of Kyffhäuser hides a park that you would not expect in this size. Worth seeing here is the castle garden from the 17th century! The sloping garden offers a beautiful view of the majestic trees and the ruins of the former castle.

©Tina Hoffmann, Südharz Kyffhäuser Region

More travel tips in Thuringia can be found at any ADAC office or travel agency.

Your ADAC travel expert Niklas Kubitz from the ADAC travel agency in Erfurt.

 


This might be interesting for you, too:

Ab in den Norden

Mit dem Motorrad Nordthüringen entdecken

Thüringen lässt Bikerherzen höherschlagen! Speziell die Region Südharz Kyffhäuser bietet landschaftlich tolle Strecken für Motorradfahrer. Hier ein Ausflugstipp für eine schöne Tagestour über herrliche Straßen mit zahlreichen Kurven und vorbei an idyllischen Orten von ADAC-Reiseexperte Niklas.

Die Rundtour startet und endet in Nordhausen. Sie führt über Hasselfelde und Harzgerode nach Sangerhausen. Von dort geht es weiter nach Bad Frankenhausen zum Kyffhäuser Denkmal. Die Tour führt dann über Bendeleben zum Schloss Sonderhausen und wieder zurück zum Startpunkt. Die Strecke ist rund 200 Kilometer lang, auf dem Weg lohnen sich einige Stopps. Auch vier Außenstandorte der BUGA2021 befinden sich auf der Strecke. Hier meine persönlichen Highlights:

Nordhausen mit Villa Hohenrode

Die historische Parkanlage Hohenrode in Nordhausen ist der erste Außenstandort der BUGA und einen Besuch wert! Zehn Hektar Park mit herrschaftlicher Villa sind dort zu bewundern. Carl und sein Sohn Fritz Kneiff prägten den Park durch ihre Sammelleidenschaft für seltene Bäume und Sträucher.

 ©GECKO.1, Bundesgartenschau Erfurt 2021 gGmbH

Europa-Rosarium in Sangerhausen 

Wer Rosen liebt, darf das Europa-Rosarium in Sangerhausen nicht verpassen. Hier findet sich die größte Rosensammlung der Welt! Rund 100.000 Rosen wachsen hier, mehr als 8.700 Arten sind auf dem 13 Hektar großen Gelände zu bewundern und zu beschnuppern. Sangerhausen liegt zwar schon in Sachsen-Anhalt, gehört aber mit zu den Außenstadtorten der BUGA und ist somit ein Muss für alle Thüringen-Besucher.

©GECKO.1, Bundesgartenschau Erfurt 2021 gGmbH

Der Schiefe Turm von Bad Frankenhausen

Es lohnt ein Abstecher ins historische Örtchen Bad Frankenhausen. Der Kirchturm der evangelischen Oberkirche ist auf jeden Fall ein beliebtes Fotomotiv – mit 4,6 Metern Überhang steht hier der schiefste aller deutschen Türme! Er ist sogar stärker geneigt, als der Schiefe Turm von Pisa. Auf dem BUGA-Gelände des egaparks in Erfurt können Kinder einen Nachbau des Schiefen Turms von Bad Frankenhausen beklettern.

Kyffhäuser Denkmal 

Imposant ist das Kaiser-Wilhelm-Nationaldenkmal auf dem Kyffhäuser.  Eine riesige über 80 Meter hohe Anlage mit dem Reiterstandbild von Kaiser Wilhelm I. und der in Stein gehauenen Figur Barbarossas. Das Denkmal wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts  errichtet und gilt als eines der größten Deutschlands. Wer die vielen Stufen zur Aussichtsplattform erklimmt,  genießt einen tollen Blick bis zum Harz. 

©Martin Ludwig

Barockdorf Bendeleben

Ein weiterer Außenstandort der BUGA befindet sich im Barockdorf Bendeleben. Der 600 Einwohner-Ort lädt zu einem tollen Spaziergang ein. Die charmanten im Barockstil erbauten Häuser, die tolle Orangerie und der idyllische Bendelebener Park mit seinen sieben Teichen bieten perfekte Orte für eine kleine Rast.

©ZK Medien, Südharz Kyffhäuser Region

Schloss Sondershausen 

Das ehemalige Residenzschloss Sondershausen thront eindrucksvoll über der Stadt. Mehr als ein halbes Jahrtausend herrschten die Grafen und Fürsten von Schwarzburg über die Stadt Sondershausen und haben diese einzigartige Schlossanlage hinterlassen. Heute gehört die wunderschöne Anlage zu einer der wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten des Kyffhäuserkreises, wenn nicht gar zu den schönsten Schlössern Thüringens. 

Blauer Saal im Schloss Sondershausen ©Roland Wehking, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Ebeleben

Unerwartetes Vergnügen findet man an diesem Außenstandort der BUGA. In einem kleinen Ort im Kyffhäuserkreis versteckt sich ein Park, den man in dieser Größe nicht vermutet. Sehenswert ist hier der Schlossgarten aus dem 17. Jahrhundert! Die abfallende Gartenanlage bietet einen wunderschönen Blick auf die majestätischen Bäume und die Ruine des ehemaligen Schlosses.

©Tina Hoffmann, Südharz Kyffhäuser Region

Mehr Ausflugstipps in Thüringen gibt es in jeder ADAC Geschäftsstelle & Reisebüro.

Euer ADAC-Reiseexperte Niklas Kubitz aus dem ADAC Reisebüro in Erfurt.

 


Das könnte euch auch interessieren: