Fine food with a historical twist

Quality cuisine in and around Thuringia’s castles and palaces

From new interpretations of medieval dishes or fine dining in a palace to top quality whisky and international cuisine with regional ingredients – here are some tips on where to enjoy good food in exclusive settings.

Hanstein Castle | Klausenhof

A taste of the Middle Ages

Hanstein Castle, one of the largest castle ruins in central Germany, has towered above the Werra valley since the 11th century. That period is also evoked at the Klausenhof restaurant, located at the foot of the castle hill. Here, attendants decant wine from stoneware jugs and serve dishes such as ‘poultry from the oven with honey and lime tree blossoms’ at candlelit medieval banquets. The standard daily menu is a bit more contemporary, with delicious regional cuisine featuring Müritz zander, Werra valley truffles and Thuringian venison. | klausenhof.de

Martin Röhrig serviert seinen Gästen regionale Spezialitäten aus dem Eichsfeld

Martin Röhrig serves his guests regional specialities from the Eichsfeld region ©Carlo Bansini, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Scharfenstein Castle | 12HUNDERT9

Whisky, coffee and gourmet dining

Sitting on the spur of a hill, high above the Eichsfeld region, the castle was first mentioned in 1209 – a date that the gourmet restaurant in the newly opened boutique hotel decided would do nicely as a name. The restaurant has a stripped-down aesthetic featuring lots of wood, and serves contemporary cuisine based on regional produce. Diners who feel inclined to follow up their meal with some spirits or an espresso are spoilt for choice here. In addition to the restaurant, the historical walls of Scharfenstein Castle also house the Whisky World of Discovery (complete with a whisky cinema and tasting facilities) as well as an aromatic coffee roastery, where delicious cakes are served with freshly brewed speciality coffees. | burghotel-scharfenstein.de

 

Schloss Auerstedt | Reinhardt’s 

Fine dining in a time of peace

Back in the days when Prussia was at war with France, the Prussian high command based themselves at Schloss Auerstedt while they were preparing to defeat Napoleon’s troops in the Battle of Jena and Auerstedt. In the event, they lost, but that doesn’t make the location itself any less charming. The heart of the site is now the restaurant Reinhardt’s im Schloss. Here, hosts Kati and Frank Reinhardt serve unpretentious gourmet cuisine that combines Thuringian tradition with the latest culinary trends. | reinhardts-im-schloss.de

 

Villa Altenburg

The style of the Roaring Twenties

A grand staircase, parquet flooring, a conservatory and a park – the neoclassical villa of Pössneck publisher Ludwig Vogel is still looking good a hundred years after it was built. Nowadays it is home to a boutique hotel and a restaurant. The restaurant’s wood-panelled dining room with its muntin windows brings the era of the 1920s vividly to life, while the kitchen serves international specialities based on premium quality ingredients. | villa-altenburg.de

Ettersburg Palace

Culture on a plate

They’ve all been here – Bach and Schiller, Goethe and Liszt, Herder and all the other luminaries of Weimar Classicism used to be frequent visitors at the baroque palace. Duchess Anna Amalia chose Ettersburg as her summer residence. Later on, the prestigious garden designer Prince Hermann von Pückler-Muskau created its English landscape park. Today, Ettersburg Palace is part of the Classical Weimar UNESCO World Heritage and offers an excellent programme of cultural events, as well as fine dining with a local touch in its restaurant. | schlossettersburg.de

Schloss Etterburg bei Weimar

Ettersburg Palace near Weimar, a top tip for food (and culture) lovers ©Marcus Glahn, Schatzkammer Thüringen

Genuss mit historischer Note

Rund um Thüringens Schlösser und Burgen wird fein gekocht

Ob mittelalterliche Speis' neu interpretiert, eine feine Küche im Schloss, Whisky auf höchstem Niveau oder internationale Gerichte mit regionalen Zutaten – hier findet ihr Tipps zum Schlemmen und Genießen.

Burg Hanstein | Klausenhof  

So köstlich schmeckt das Mittelalter

Über dem Werratal sitzt seit dem 11. Jahrhundert Burg Hanstein, eine der größten Burgruinen Mitteldeutschlands. Das Mittelalter wird auch im Klausenhof zelebriert, dem Wirtshaus am Fuße des Burgbergs. Beim Rittermahl im Kerzenschein schenken Mägde und Knechte Wein aus Tonkrügen aus und tischen „Federvieh aus dem Ofen mit Honig und Lindblueten“ auf. Moderner kommt die normale Tageskarte daher, wo Müritz-Zander, Werratal-Trüffel und Thüringer Hirsch zu feinster Regionalküche verarbeitet werden. | klausenhof.de

Martin Röhrig serviert seinen Gästen regionale Spezialitäten aus dem Eichsfeld

Martin Röhrig serviert seinen Gästen regionale Spezialitäten aus dem Eichsfeld ©Carlo Bansini, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Burg Scharfenstein | 12HUNDERT9

Whisky, Kaffee und Gourmetküche

Im Jahr 1209 wurde die Burg auf dem Bergsporn über Eichsfeld erstmals urkundlich erwähnt – ein Datum, das sich das Feinschmecker-Restaurant im frisch eröffneten Boutique-Hotel „Burghotel Scharfenstein“ gleich für seinen Namen ausgeborgt hat. In puristischem, mit viel Holz angereichertem Ambiente wird zeitgenössische Küche aus Produkten der Region serviert. Wer nach genossenem Mahl Lust auf Hochprozentiges oder einen Espresso hat, ist auf Burg Scharfenstein bestens aufgehoben: In den historischen Mauern befinden sich außer dem Restaurant eine richtige Whisky-Erlebniswelt (mit „Whiskykino“ und Verkostungsmöglichkeit) sowie eine duftende Kaffeerösterei, wo zu frisch gebrühten Kaffeespezialitäten feine Kuchen und Torten gereicht werden. | burghotel-scharfenstein.de

 

Schloss Auerstedt | Reinhardt‘s 

Feine Küche in friedlichen Zeiten

Das waren Zeiten, als es gegen die Franzosen ging, und sich die preußischen Befehlshaber auf Schloss Auerstedt einquartierten, um Napoleons Truppen bei der Schlacht von Jena und Auerstedt zu besiegen! Zwar unterlagen sie, doch dem Charme der Schlossanlage tut das keinen Abbruch. Herzstück des Ensembles ist heute das Restaurant „Reinhardt‘s im Schloss“, wo Gastgeber Kati und Frank Reinhardt eine schnörkellose Gourmetküche anbieten, die Thüringer Tradition mit modernen Trends verbindet. | reinhardts-im-schloss.de

 

Villa Altenburg

Im Stil der Goldenen Zwanziger

Freitreppe, Parkett, Wintergarten und Park: Die neoklassizistische Villa des Pößnecker Verlegers Ludwig Vogel kann sich auch 100 Jahre nach ihrem Bau sehen lassen. Heute ist sie ein gepflegtes Boutique-Hotel mit eigenem Restaurant. In dessen holzgetäfelten Speisesaal mit Sprossenfenstern ist die Atmosphäre der Golden Twenties besonders lebendig. Aus der Küche kommen internationale Spezialitäten auf der Basis hochwertiger Produkte. | villa-altenburg.de

Schloss Ettersburg

Kultur auf dem Teller

Alle waren sie da: Bach und Schiller, Goethe und Liszt, Herder und die anderen Köpfe der Weimarer Klassik gingen in dem Barockschloss ein und aus. Herzogin Anna Amalia hatte die Anlage als Sommersitz erwählt; später legte Gartenbau-Papst von Pückler-Muskau den englischen Schlosspark an. Heute gehört Schloss Ettersburg zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe „Klassisches Weimar“ und bietet ein hervorragendes Kulturprogramm. Und im Restaurant feine Küche mit lokaler Note. | schlossettersburg.de

Schloss Etterburg bei Weimar

Schloss Etterburg bei Weimar, ein Tipp für (Kultur)Genießer ©Marcus Glahn, Schatzkammer Thüringen